Training and Cooking

25 Jul

I’ve made progress this week on the fruits and vegetable front, but it’s definitely going to be an ongoing battle. I enjoyed going to farmer’s market and getting fresh and super flavorful things. When it comes to snacks, I still gravitate to chocolate or bread over fruit, though. And veggies are just going to take some getting into. I do like the way I feel when I eat healthy, though. I am trying to remember that part. 🙂 Over all, the amount o crap I’m eating is definitely diminishing, so I call that a success!

I’ve been making homemade bread (no sugar, no random stuff, just 4 ingredients – flour, yeast, salt, water) and this week I tried cooking a meal. Man it takes a long time. But it turned out really well!

Chicken Parmigiana and french green beans (sorry for the crappy cell phone pic)

Homemade bread

I’m going to go to the farmer’s market again tomorrow and get some more fruit and veg for the week. I don’t get very much because we’re still learning how to work it into our menu, but I’m enjoying it so far.

So in other news…Today was my first day back with my personal trainer in a lot of months. It was great seeing him again! I think every woman deserves to have an attractive gay man follow her around and tell her how beautiful and strong she is. We took it easy since it’s my first time in a while. Lots of stretches, and lots of core stuff. I’ve been battling back pain for a long time, so my trainer wants to focus on strengthening my core and fixing my posture which helps with that a lot.

I love working with a trainer. Not just because he’s hot and lovable, but also because I’m kind of a form junkie. He’s great at explaining the right form for each move, and how it should feel, and I love it when I can FEEL that it’s right. It’s kind of cool being able to feel your muscles work in the way they’re supposed to. Of course, I say all this now, Thursday morning I’m going to be bitching up a storm. So it goes. Just like eating healthy, it always feels better afterwards than it does before!

2 Responses to “Training and Cooking”

  1. DonnaSmith July 26, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Eric and i have been going to the growers markets that they have around town here. Been buying some amazing squash, and the cutest little bite sized potatoes, been slicing them up and drizzling them with a little olive oil and wrapping them in foil and grilling them while the meat cooks. Turns out amazing. oh…with herbs…and some sea salt.

    • Anne July 26, 2012 at 4:12 am #

      Oh wow, that sounds DELICIOUS!!! I might have to try that… I am going to try this recipe again with my changes. It makes nice leftovers, and the chicken breasts we have are big enough that 1/2 of one chicken breast is really enough food. I should remember that for next time…lol

Leave a Reply

