HUNGRY

7 Aug

I’m having one of those days…okay fine, weeks in which I’m constantly hungry. Not really hungry, but I just want to be eating. Which is of course the sign of emotional hunger instead of physical hunger, but none of my tricks are working. I’m mostly craving chocolate. So. much. chocolate.

Generally when I get cravings, I try to listen to them, and have some of whatever I’m craving so I don’t end up eating everything else BUT what I’m craving so I don’t give into my cravings. The problem is that this particular craving appears to be insatiable. There is not enough chocolate to fill this need.

Looking at what’s going on emotionally, I’m headed into a pretty big upheaval, and I’m sure I’m freaking out inside. And some on the outside. Eli still doesn’t have a job, and we’re running out of savings. He’s been trying really hard, and I’ve been helping him, but there’s just been nothing happening on that front other than a few interviews. A lot of times he’s been told that it was between him and somebody else, but they keep picking the somebody else. I’m trying to have faith — things always seem to work out — but it’s really hard.

On my job front, it’s difficult having such an unstructured job as this startup. I feel like I’m the only one putting any effort into it, because the other two people have another job. I don’t have the skills to do everything that needs to be done, nor do I want to be the only one working on it. It’s scary and unknown and I need my marketing/business person to help us get to a point where we’ve got at least some money coming in. And a game plan. We could use one of those.

And finally, my best friend for the last 7 years is moving to the other side of the country in a couple weeks. She’s been my social anxiety crutch (y’know, the person that you take with you to events so you’re not there alone) and my partner-in-crime, and I have no idea what I’m going to do when she moves.

Probably eat too much chocolate. ๐Ÿ˜

2 Responses to “HUNGRY”

  1. Matt Zahn August 9, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Cravings… oy vey, I can identify with you there. While I can’t say that I share the chocolate craving, it’s probably in there with the “something sweet” that usually involves ice cream or soft serve of some form. Doesn’t help that it’s summer and hot and cold things are awesome then.

    What is Eli looking for with respect to work (besides a paying job…)? Does Full Power have a spot for him? What about your thoughts about teaching somewhere not Santa Cruz? Would he have a better shot getting a job there? I don’t know if any of these would mesh with him, but here’s the list of openings at Linden:

    http://lindenlab.com/careers

    Most customer service and fraud stuff can be done remotely (CA, WA, MA, VI only), any programming or whatnot will probably require working from the listed office.

    If there’s anything I can do to help, let me know. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. donna August 16, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    I know Gillian left today. Perfectly okay to eat lots of.chocolate. I am here if you need.me. hugs.

Leave a Reply

