Bananas and Vitamins

24 Aug

Another workout today. I love my trainer, even if he’s a sadistic bastard. He gave me more homework; now I need to take a multivitamin and eat a piece of fruit every day. This is the kind of homework I can handle, really. So far so good!

Our workouts are tightening up as I get back into things. I’m ready to go up weights next week, even after three circuits, they were pretty easy. And after next week we’re heading into a couple weeks of increasing strength which is my favorite. Instead of doing 3×15 of everything, I do 2×8. Because there are fewer reps, I can do much higher weight, and I can go up weights faster. After a few weeks of that, we’ll come back down for more reps again to increase endurance again. My trainer likes to cycle between a few modes to keep everything balanced and new.

After today’s workout, my trainer says I’m ready to work with the bar in bench press instead of individual weights. Have I mentioned how much I love bench/chest press because it makes me feel super strong? Switching to the barbell from dumbbells makes it all even better! Can’t wait!

Cardio improvements are going slower, but they are improving. And although I miss my best friend a lot, I’m finding that I’m eating a lot less junk food. I used to do a lot of social eating, and now that I’m not doing that, I mostly eat fairly healthy at home because that’s all we have in the house. Hopefully that will be reflected in some weight loss. I’m kinda sick of sitting at the 211.5-212.5 range.

Oh, right. I had to share this new move my trainer is having me do. I’ve been doing planks for a while, and on Tuesday and today he introduced new types of planks. Including one called the “irritating plank”. This involves doing a plank with your elbows on one of those bosu half-ball things. Not so bad (other than being a plank which sucks). But then while I’m doing that for 45 seconds, he’s taking a medicine ball and pushing me on the back and along my side. My response, “well I see where the irritating part of this comes in.” Seriously lame. My trainer laughs the entire time. See? Sadistic bastard.

3 Responses to “Bananas and Vitamins”

  1. Matt Zahn August 26, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Are you doing one massive multi-vitamin in the morning or spreading it out? The latter is better for you and provides better, steady nourishment throughout the day. I don’t know if there are any OTC MV’s that have small enough doses to take 2x or 3x a day. The herbalife ones are, but they are also probably more expensive than what you can get at GNC, Walgreens, or Target. Still, it might be worth looking into something that you can take with breakfast and dinner or breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    • Anne August 26, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Right now I’m just doing the one every day. I just take the ones that Eli got from Costco. Once I don’t suck at remembering to take those, I’ll try moving to a 2x or 3x a day version. 🙂 That’s good to know, thanks for informing me!

      • Matt Zahn August 26, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

        🙂 The one-a-day’s are great for remembering and ease of taking. However, they load you up really high on stuff when you take it and then you slowly drop off for the rest of the day, if you take 3x smaller pills, you keep a more constant average.

        Compare the price of Costco’s to Herbalife. Might be worth throwing into your normal order?

Leave a Reply

